太湖世界文化论坛

Keynote Speech at the Opening Ceremony of the 6th Annual Conference of Taihu World Cultural Forum

October12,2021

Yan  Zhao  zhu

 

Your Excellency Vice Chairman Wang Chen,

Your Excellency President Laurent Fabius,

Your Excellency Prince Norodom Chakravudth,

Your Excellency Mr. Romano Prodi,

Distinguished Guests,

Ladies and Gentlemen, Friends,

Good morning! First of all, I’d like to thank His Excellencies President Ilham Aliyev of the Republic of Azerbaijan, President Rumen Radev of the Republic of Bulgaria, King Norodom Sihamoni of Cambodia for their letters of congratulation. I also sincerely thank Vice Chairman Wang Chen for his important speech. On behalf of Taihu World Cultural Forum and in my own name, I wish to extend a warm welcome to all the guests attending the conference in person or online, and sincere greetings and best wishes to all old and new friends, heartfelt thanks to all international friends, experts, scholars and friends from all walks of life, as well as government agencies, cultural and academic groups, enterprises and public institutions, especially Anhui Provincial Government and Bengbu Municipal Government who have supported and participated in the preparatory work of this Annual Conference.

Dear Friends,

A series of global challenges such as COVID-19 pandemic and climate change have had a huge impact on all aspects of human society. At the same time, the world is undergoing profound changes unseen in a century, and mankind has once again come to the crossroads of history. What is the most significant change under this situation? It is China's peaceful development and great achievements. It is Asia's rising shares in the world economy and it is developing countries that have embarked on the fast track of the development. In just over 40 years, China has grown from scratch to the world's second largest economy, largest industrial country and second largest scientific and technological power. In recent years, China has contributed around 30% to world economic growth, a development miracle rarely seen in human history. Over the past half century and more, Asian countries and regions have maintained steady growth, with their share of the world economy rising from 15 percent in 1990 to 49.5 percent in 2019. The rise of emerging economies and developing countries represented by BRICS is also accelerating. An increasing number of politicians, scholars and media believe that the current world political and economic structure is undergoing profound adjustment and the center of gravity of the global economy is shifting eastward. Today, the realization of the Chinese dream of the great rejuvenation of the Chinese nation has become irreversible, and the pursuit of development by the majority of the world's countries and nations has become irresistible.

Major changes unseen in a century have brought not only bright prospects and major opportunities to the world, but also turbulence and challenges. China's peaceful development and achievements have cheered the people of most countries, but dismayed others. The sole superpower, in despite of bipartisan opposition and holding each other back for a long time, is rare to have reached a consensus on issues about China, disappointed that China, in the process of its modernization, did not realize political transition of which they took the unilateral idea, thought that China's own road and brilliant achievements posed systematic, disruptive challenges to western political system. Sometimes they willfully walked away from international organizations and commitments, sometimes they gathered allies, and attempted to block China's development by means of isolation, strike, confrontation, encirclement and suppression. Their responses to China's development and changes in the world are thought-provoking. Should the development path of every sovereign state be designed and arranged by a superpower? Is taking a different path from the West a threat? Can't different social systems coexist in peace and develop together? This is indeed a very serious political problem, but also a fundamentally important cultural problem.

Dear Friends,

Can different civilizations and values communicate, coexist and learn from each other? Can different social systems coexist peacefully and cooperate for win-win outcomes? The answer bears on the future of the world and mankind. The annual conference this year is themed “Mutual Learning Among Civilizations: Jointly Building a Community of Shared Future for Mankind”, has set up six thematic sub-forums, invited people from all walks of life, focusing on topics of major issues like cultural diversity, “Belt and Road”, global challenges like epidemic prevention, ecological construction, poverty alleviation, and development of science and technology, to make discussion in a multi-angle, multi-dimensional perspective, and to fully exchange views, so as to make our cultural choice and contribution for the future of the human development.

Historically, there has never been only one social system or civilization. Different social systems and cultures can coexist peacefully, learn from each other in an inclusive way. The historical experience of the Silk Road is the most powerful proof. The spirit of Silk Road forged through long-term exchanges among countries along the road like peace and cooperation, openness and inclusiveness, mutual learning and mutual benefit, which date back thousands of years, are going as strong as ever. The Belt and Road Initiative, which carries forward the spirit of Silk Road, is a strategy for common development of countries along the road and an important way and long-term solution to promote global peace and prosperity. We need to recall the common historical memory of the Silk Road and open a new chapter of mutual respect, mutual trust, peaceful development and win-win cooperation through consultation, joint contribution and shared benefits in the new era.

At present, one global challenge after another has posed a serious threat to the survival and development of mankind. Despite differences in political systems, values, social and historical backgrounds and levels of economic development, countries face common challenges and share a common destiny. We should work together to overcome difficulties. The spread of COVID-19 knows no borders or ethnic groups. It calls for mutual assistance, solidarity and cooperation from all countries. The consequences of climate change are becoming more and more serious. It is imperative for the world to strengthen coordination and cooperation, promote green economic development and healthy lifestyles, strengthen ecological progress, and restore the harmony between human and nature. The task of global poverty reduction is arduous and complex. China's comprehensive victory in eradicating absolute poverty has made a historic contribution to global poverty reduction. All countries need to strengthen cooperation and learn from each other to eradicate poverty and achieve peaceful development. Science and technology is a double-edged sword. We need to strengthen international cooperation to promote scientific and technological progress for the benefit of mankind, and work together to curb many risks that may bring about.

Dear Friends,

We have come to a major turning point in human history. Where should mankind go from here? What kind of future are we striving for? About which people all over the world are concerned and thinking. We stand for strengthening exchanges and mutual learning among civilizations to build an open, inclusive, clean and beautiful world that enjoys lasting peace, universal security and common prosperity. To this end, our conference should foster a sound atmosphere of discussion, in which all participants exchange views on an equal footing, jointly pursue truth and advance the times. Here, I would like to share with you the following proposals:

First, we advocate an atmosphere of meeting based on equality and mutual respect.

We're here to talk and communicate. We are from different countries with different customs, social backgrounds and beliefs. In the face of common challenges and profound changes in the world, it is not surprising that people have different opinions and views. We call for dialogue rather than confrontation, consultation rather than accusation, and inclusiveness rather than decoupling. Equality and mutual respect are the basic prerequisites for dialogue and communication. Only when we respect each other on an equal footing can we hear each other's voices, understand each other's views, and understand the causes of differences. In this way, we can seek common ground while putting aside differences, learn from each other, remove misunderstandings and misjudgments, and enhance consensus and cooperation.

What often impedes our communication nowadays is arrogance, ignorance, and prejudice, and prejudice is farther from truth than ignorance. Unfortunately, human beings have gone through a period of colonial era, a few countries bully the majority of countries, strong countries bully the weak, this racial discrimination, colonial prejudice used to be accustomed to, so far intractable. If we want to eliminate prejudice and discrimination in communication, we should not only abandon the hegemonic mentality, but also clean up the historical garbage left by the colonial era. No matter how far we go, we can't forget the road we came to today. We must not forget the teachings of our ideological pioneers. Human beings have always insisted on equality and mutual respect. In China, Confucianism, Taoism and Buddhism all believe that "all men under the four seas are brothers" and that all living beings are equal. Western Christianity preaches that people is equal in God; The US Declaration of Independence also advocated that “all men are created equal”... We should respond to the wisdom of our ancestors, treat others as equals, respect each other, and be inclusive.

Second, we call for a rational and fact-based meeting.

We are here to learn and find solutions. The purpose of exchanging opinions is to eliminate the false and retain the true, so that the truth of the facts can be revealed to the world and the objective truth can illuminate the course of our journey forward. As the Russian proverb says, “Truth strides near, lies must flee.” We advocate real respect for facts. At no time should "political correctness" cover up the world as it really is, nor should we be blinded by the interests of narrow cliques or make irresponsible remarks that go against our conscience. Arguments should be based on facts as well as verified and accurate statistics. Do not make groundless claims out of thin air, and do not go against common sense or make unreasonable arguments. Right and wrong have their own reasons, and justice is in people's hearts. "With justice on your side, you can go anywhere; without it, you can't take a step. Even if it is backed by hegemony and led by “gunboats”, it will not be far. As Mencius, the Chinese philosopher, aptly puts it: “those who stand with morality receive wide support and those who go against it receive little. When the little reaches the top, even relatives will betray them, when the wide reaches the top, the world will follow.” The truth and nature of things will be revealed to the world and the heart.

Third, we call for a meeting that responds to the challenges of the times and the needs of the people.

The German poet Heinrich Heine once said, “Every era has its major topics, to which the solution will push human society forward”. What are the topics of our times? The world has gone through the colonial era, the developing countries, represented by China are becoming more and more independent, developing rapidly, have become the important force to be reckoned with on the international stage, how to deal with different social systems and cultural traditions, values, economic development stage of the relationship between the country and people, this is the topics of our times; while the industrial revolution created huge material wealth, promoted social progress, it also bred the one-sided idea that human can rule nature, infinitely consume natural resources, which causes damage to the balance of human and nature. This is the topics of our times that how all humanity learn each other, unite and cooperate to cope with the challenges of climate change, to rebuild the relationship between human and nature; Along with the acceleration of economic development and urbanization, countries are becoming more and more closely connected, and large-scale infectious diseases have repeatedly raged around the world. How to strengthen international cooperation and build a community of health for mankind is the topic of our times. These topics concern the fundamental interests and future of hundreds of millions of people around the world. All mankind should fully understand the seriousness of these topics, jointly respond to, explore and solve these topics, and strive to push our era forward.

History clearly shows that the people are the creators of history and masters of the times. The fundamental interests of the people are the essential pursuit of the topics of our times. To answer the challenges and solve the topics of our times is to respond to people's expectations and fulfill their interests. We must concentrate to understand our times, grasp the pulse of the times, do our own work well, and realize the interests of our people. We should strengthen international cooperation and coordination, do a good job in world affairs and benefit the people of the world. We have always maintained that the affairs of a country should be decided by its own people and international affairs should be handled through consultation among all countries. People of all countries should unite to meet the challenges of the times and build a better world.

Dear Friends,

The building of a community with a shared future for mankind represents mankind's ardent expectation and unswerving pursuit of a world of great harmony and a bright future shared by all. We must work together, make unremitting search, work together to a better tomorrow. Here, I sincerely wish you all a pleasant stay in Bengbu, to make cordial exchange of eastern and western cultures on the dividing line between north and south China, and make greater contribution to the building of a community with a shared future for mankind.

In conclusion, I wish you all good health and happiness!

Thank you!

 

 太湖世界文化论坛
太湖世界文化论坛
太湖世界文化论坛
Forum wechat account
太湖世界文化论坛
Mobile sites
Contact us
Address : Room 21-1-1, Jianwai Diplomatic Residence Compound, No.1 Xiushui Street, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100600,China
Tel:010-85325881
Forum wechat account:TWCF_Media

版权所有:太湖世界文化论坛 京ICP备13004368号

太湖世界文化论坛

《第六届年会》

第六届年会开幕式主旨演讲

20211012日)

严昭柱

 

尊敬的王晨副委员长,

尊敬的法比尤斯主席阁下,

尊敬的贡桑奥亲王阁下,

尊敬的罗马诺·普罗迪先生,

各位来宾,女士们,先生们,朋友们:

上午好!首先,感谢阿塞拜疆共和国阿利耶夫总统阁下的贺信,感谢保加利亚共和国拉德夫总统阁下的贺信,感谢柬埔寨王国西哈莫尼国王阁下的贺信。同时,要真诚感谢王晨副委员长的重要致辞。在此,我谨代表太湖世界文化论坛,并以我个人的名义,对出席会议的线上线下所有嘉宾,表示热烈的欢迎!对各位新老朋友,表示诚挚的问候和美好的祝愿!向支持和参与本届年会筹备工作的国际友人、专家学者和各界朋友,以及政府机关、文化学术团体和企事业单位,特别是安徽省委省政府、蚌埠市委市政府,表示衷心的感谢!

各位朋友!

世纪疫情、气候变化等一系列全球性挑战,给人类社会带来全方位的巨大冲击。同时,世界正经历百年未有之大变局,人类再次站在了历史的十字路口。这个大变局中最重大的变化是什么呢?是中国的和平发展及伟大成就,是亚洲占世界经济的比重不断攀升,是发展中国家纷纷走上发展快车道。中国用了短短40余年时间,从一穷二白发展成为现在世界第二大经济体、第一大工业国和第二大科技实力国,近年来对世界经济增长的贡献率持续保持在30%左右,堪称人类历史上罕见的发展奇迹。半个多世纪以来,亚洲国家和地区总体保持稳定增长,占世界经济总量的比重由1990年的15%提高到2019年的49.5%。以金砖国家为代表的新兴经济体和发展中国家也在加速崛起。越来越多政治家、学者以及媒体认为,当前世界政治经济格局正在发生深刻调整,全球经济重心正在东移。今天,中华民族伟大复兴的中国梦的实现已经不可逆转,占世界人口大多数的国家和民族追求发展的美好愿望正在实现的趋势已经不可阻挡。

百年变局给世界带来了光明前景和重大机遇,也带来动荡和挑战。中国的和平发展及成就让大多数国家的人民欢欣鼓舞,但也让有的国家沮丧不安。唯一的超级大国两党长期对立、相互掣肘,却在中国议题上罕见地达成共识,对中国没有在现代化进程中实现他们单方面设想的政治转型大失所望,认为中国走自己的道路并取得辉煌成就是对西方政治体制系统性、颠覆性的挑战。他们时而退群毁约,时而召集盟友,企图通过孤立、打击、对抗、围剿等手段阻碍中国发展。他们对中国发展及世界变局的反应不由得令人深思,难道每个主权国家的发展道路都要由超级大国来设计和安排吗?难道走不同于西方的道路就构成了威胁吗?难道不同的社会制度就不能和平相处、共同发展吗?这确实是一个非常严肃而严峻的政治问题,也是一个带根本性的重大的文化问题。

各位朋友!

不同文明、不同价值观能不能交流共存、互学互鉴,不同社会制度能不能和平共处、合作共赢,这关乎世界未来和人类的前途命运。本届年会以"文明互鉴:共筑人类命运共同体"为主题,共设置6个主题论坛,在文化多样性和"一带一路"等重大课题,在防疫、生态建设、减贫和科技发展等全球性挑战方面,邀请各界人士从多角度、多方位展开讨论,充分交换意见,为人类的未来发展作出我们的文化选择和贡献。

历史上从来不是只有一种社会制度,也不是只有一种文明,不同社会制度、各种文化完全可以和平共处、包容互鉴,丝绸之路的历史经验就是最有力的证明。沿途各国在长期交往中形成的和平合作、开放包容、互学互鉴、互利共赢的丝路精神,千百年来历久弥新。"一带一路"弘扬思路精神,是沿线各国的共同发展战略,是促进全球和平与繁荣的重要途径和长久之计。我们要唤起世界各国对丝绸之路共同的历史记忆,在新的时代共商共建共享,谱写互尊互信、和平发展、合作共赢的新篇章。

现在,此起彼伏的全球性挑战给人类生存发展带来了严重的威胁。尽管各国政治制度不同、价值观念不同、社会历史背景不同、经济发展水平也不同,但是挑战是共同的,命运也是共同的,应该同舟共济、共克时艰。新冠病毒的传播没有国界、不分种族,需要各国守望相助、团结合作。气候变化引发的诸多后果越来越严峻,亟需全球强化协调合作,推动绿色经济发展和健康生活方式,加强生态文明建设,重建人与自然的和谐。全球减贫任务艰巨复杂,中国消除绝对贫困的全面胜利为世界减贫作出了历史性贡献,各国都需要继续加强合作、互学互鉴,努力消除贫困,实现和平发展。科技是把双刃剑,既需要加强国际合作,推动科技进步造福人类,也需要携手抑制可能带来的诸多风险。

各位朋友!

我们来到了人类历史的重大拐点,人类应当何去何从?我们要争取一个什么样的未来?全世界人民都在关心和思考。我们主张加强不同文明交流互鉴,建设一个持久和平、普遍安全、共同繁荣、开放包容、清洁美丽的世界。为此,我们的大会要提倡一个好的会风,围绕主题大家平等交流、畅所欲言,共同追求真理,推动时代前进。在这里,我愿提出几点倡议,与诸位分享:

第一,我们提倡平等相待、相互尊重的会风

我们是来沟通交流的。大家来自不同的国度,有着不同的风俗习惯、社会背景和信仰,面临共同挑战和世界巨变,出现不同意见、有不同看法,这并不奇怪。对于不同意见,我们主张对话而不是对抗、磋商而不是指责、包容而不是脱钩。要实现对话与沟通,平等相待、相互尊重是基本前提。我们只有平等互尊,才能听见彼此的声音、了解对方的意见、理解差异形成的原因,从而求同存异、互学互鉴,消除误会误判,增强共识与合作。

现在妨碍我们沟通交流的常常是傲慢、无知和偏见,而偏见比无知离真理更远。人类不幸曾经过了一段殖民时代,少数国家欺凌多数国家,强国欺负弱国,这种种族歧视、殖民偏见曾经习以为常,至今沉疴难治。我们要消除交流中的偏见与歧视,就不仅要摒弃霸权心态,而且要清扫殖民时代留下的历史垃圾。走得再远都不能忘记来时的路,走到今天,我们也不要忘了思想先驱们的教导。人类从来就坚持着对平等和相互尊重的推崇。中国的儒、道、佛三家都主张"四海之内皆兄弟",主张万物齐一,主张众生平等;西方的基督教宣扬上帝面前人人平等;美国的《独立宣言》也提倡"人人生而平等"……我们还是要响应先辈们智慧的呼唤,真正平等待人、相互尊重、兼容并包。

第二,我们提倡保持理性、尊重事实的会风

我们是来学习借鉴、找寻办法的。不同意见的相互切磋就是要去伪存真,让事实的真相大白于天下,让客观的真理照亮前进的航程。俄罗斯谚语说得好:真理大步走近,谎言就得跑开。我们倡导切实尊重事实,任何时候都不要被"政治正确"遮掩世界的本来面貌,不要被狭隘集团的利益蒙蔽耳目,违背良心乱说一气。立论要持之有据、言之成理,既要有事实根据,也要有经过核实和准确的数字统计,不要信口雌黄、无中生有,也不要违背常识、强词夺理。是非自有曲直,公道自在人心。有理走遍天下,无理寸步难行。即使是以霸权为后盾、以"炮舰"开路,也行之不远。中国先贤孟子说得好:"得道者多助,失道者寡助。寡助之至,亲戚畔之。多助之至,天下顺之。"事物的真相和本质终将会昭然于世、彰显于心。

第三,我们提倡回答时代挑战、回应人民需求的会风

德国诗人海涅说过:"每个时代都有它的重大课题,解决了它就把人类社会向前推进一步。"我们时代的课题是什么呢?世界走过了殖民主义时代,以中国为代表的发展中国家日益独立、发展迅猛,成为国际舞台上不可忽视的重要力量,如何处理好不同社会制度、文化传统、价值观、经济发展阶段的国家和民族之间的关系,这就是我们时代的课题;工业革命在创造巨大物质财富、推动社会进步的同时,也滋生了人类可以统治自然、无限消耗自然资源的片面观念,导致人与自然的平衡受到破坏,全人类如何互学互鉴、团结协作以应对气候变化带来的挑战,重建人与自然的关系,这就是我们时代的课题;随着经济发展、城市化进程加快,各国的联系越来越紧密,大规模的传染病多次在全球肆虐,人类如何加强国际合作,构建人类卫生健康共同体,这就是我们时代的课题。这些时代课题关系全世界亿万人民的根本利益和未来前途。全人类要充分认识这些课题的严峻性,共同回应、探索、解决这些课题,努力把我们的时代向前推进一步。

历史鲜明昭示,人民是历史的创造者,也是时代的主人。人民的根本利益就是时代课题的本质追求,我们回答时代挑战、解决时代课题,就是回应人民期待、实现人民利益。我们要沉下心来,认真理解我们的时代,把握时代脉搏,做好自己的事,实现本国人民的利益追求;要加强国际合作与协调,做好世界的事,为世界人民谋福利。我们历来主张一国的事情由本国人民做主,国际上的事情由各国商量着办。各国人民要团结起来,携手应对时代挑战,建设更加美好的世界。

各位朋友!

构建人类命运共同体寄托着人类对天下大同、共享光明未来的殷切期待和不渝追求。我们要一起努力、不懈求索,共同走向美好的明天。在此,我衷心祝愿各位在蚌埠度过一段愉快时光,在中国南北分界线上实现世界东西方文化的大交流,为推动构建人类命运共同体作出更大贡献。

最后,祝各位身体健康、幸福如意!

谢谢大家!

 

 太湖世界文化论坛
太湖世界文化论坛
太湖世界文化论坛
论坛微信公众号
太湖世界文化论坛
移动端网站
联系我们
地址:北京市朝阳区秀水街1号建外外交公寓1-1-21
联系电话:010-85325881
论坛微信公众号:TWCF_Media

版权所有:太湖世界文化论坛 京ICP备13004368号